Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Links to Remarks and Information from the AAUP 2015 Conference


For those interested in additional resources from the recently concluded 2015 Conference of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP), Julie Schmid, AAUP Executive Director has provided updates and links to remarks from the Conference.  These follow.

Assembly of State Conferences

Irene Mulvey (Mathematics), Fairfield University, was re-elected member-at-large of the ASC executive committee and Brian Turner (Political Science), Randolph-Macon College, was re-elected as vice-chair. See the full ASC Executive Committee list at http://www.aaup.org/about/elected-leaders/ASC/officers.

Censure List
At our 101st Annual Meeting, the business portion of the Annual Conference, the AAUP membership voted to censure the administrations of University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the University of Southern Maine, and Felician College. Yeshiva University was removed from the list of censured administrations. Find more information at http://www.aaup.org/media-release/aaup-censures-four-removes-censure-one.

Presidential Address
AAUP president Rudy Fichtenbaum told the Annual Meeting that we need a bigger and more inclusive AAUP to fight concerted political attacks on higher education as a public good. You can find the full text of his address at http://www.aaup.org/news/presidential-address.

Resolutions and Proposal
The AAUP's 101st Annual Meeting passed the two resolutions, one urging faculty to resist the attacks on tenure in Wisconsin and elsewhere, and the other honoring a longtime staff member. The meeting also passed a proposal, which calls for the use of union musicians. You can see them at http://www.aaup.org/about/organization/annual-meetings/annual-meeting-resolutions/2015-resolutions.
You can see some photos from the Annual Conference at https://www.flickr.com/photos/aaup/sets/72157654205605588. Check back for more later in the week!

No comments:

Post a Comment